New York Philharmonic: Summertime Classics I

Annually, the Philharmonic plays a couple of “pops-like” concerts prior to hitting the parks circuit in the month of July. For quite some time, the Summertime Classics have been directed by British conductor Bramwell Tovey, complete with spirited commentary.

This evening’s concert focused on Russian classics:

  • Shostakovich – Festive Overture
  • Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto No. 1 with soloist, Joyce Yang
  • Musorgsky – Night on Bald Mountain
  • Rachmaninoff – Vocalise
  • Tchaikovsky – Waltz of the Flowers from The Nutcracker
  • Tchaikovsky – March Slave

New York Times Review



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s