New York Philharmonic – Labadie, Muckey, Persson performing Bach, Handel and Mozart

labadieBernard Labadie returned to the Philharmonic to present a program of Bach, Handel and Mozart. Another evening at the Philharmonic that did not disappoint!

  • Bach – Cantata No. 51 – Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen
  • Handel – Let the Bright Seraphim from Samson
  • Mozart – Requiem (Levin 1993 version)

Cantata 51 is unusual in the sense that there is no chorus; only soprano and orchestra with featured trumpet. Matthew Muckey on trumpet and Miah Persson, soprano made for a stunning opening followed by more collaboration on Handel’s Let the Bright Seraphim.

The second half of the program featured Mozart’s requiem with the New York Choral Society and soloists Persson, Stephanie Blythe, Frederic Antoun and Andrew Foster-Williams. Labadie shaped some powerful musical lines from the chorus.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s